Issues affecting multiple databasesFacts on FileFilms on DemandMosbySuncat One SearchGale
ARTStorEBSCOHow to create persistent URLsOn-campus vs. off-campus accessBrowser preferencesMalware/SpywareReporting Database Issues
This is the "Known Issues" page of the "Database Issues" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Database Issues  

Information on database issues and workarounds for known issues.
Last Updated: Oct 16, 2013 URL: http://subjectguides.cnm.edu/DBIssues Print Guide RSS Updates

Known Issues Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

eBook Searching

 eBook Searching

1.       Using eBooks button in OneSearch box.  You search the libraries resources through Discovery Services. The results are:

a.       Ebooks in EBSCOhost collections. You’ll see (EBSCOhost) in the book’s description.

<i>. If there are two links: Full Text and Download (most of the ebooks in the   collections), the book can be read online and offline.

<ii> If only Full Text button (some of the ebooks in the Netlibrary collection), the book cannot be downloaded

b.      Ebooks in the eBook collections other than EBSCOhost, such as Credo, Safari; and some purchased by the library from EBSCO or other vendors

·         Full Text link can be found at bottom, left panel, or somewhere on the screen. The book can be read only online, not downloadable.

·         Some ebooks the Libraries purchased from EBSCO are readable online and offline.

c.       eBooks in other databases and resources

·         If there is Full Text link, you can read them online.

·         If no Full Text showed up, the book cannot be read in full text, only an abstract is available, because the Libraries didn’t buy the ebook, only subscribed the database

d.      Ebook that cannot be found:

·         In the databases that Discovery Services doesn’t  cover

·         Library purchased from venders other than EBSCO

2.       Searching by e-Books databases. You search each single database in the list of E-Books subject of CNM Libraries Databases: EBSCO Ebooks, Credo, Safari, and Virtual Reference Library.

a.       All ebooks are readable online

b.      Only the ones in EBSCOhost are downloadable, as 1.a.<i>

3.       LIBROS/Millennium searching. We have about 20,000 purchased ebooks in the collection.

a.       All the ebooks are searchable and readable online by click on Online Access link.

b.      Some of the ebooks are downloadable

c.       Currently, eBooks in EBSCO Academic Collection and Community College Collection are not searchable, because the whole collections’ MARC records are not input into LIBROS/Millennium yet.

d.      Few of them are unsearchable even purchased from EBSCO, before they are yet cataloged and input into Millennium.

4.       Following may happens:

·         An ebook is readable (Full Text link) and/or downloadable (Download link), but you cannot open and/or download it. It is because we only have one copy (license) that is used by someone else. You should wait for other’s reading finished or the downloaded book “returned”. Those books include EBSCOhost’s NetLibrary collection and some of the ones the library purchased

·         Safari Technical ebooks are readable (Full Text link), not downloadable. We have 20 copies (licenses) for each of titles. There will not be that many people reading a same book simultaneously unless in a class. Credo eBooks can be unlimited accessed.

·         Seldom, an ebook is not accessible online, because it is not available (temporary or for good) on its owner’s home site.

 

 


 

 

Choice Reviews Online

Impacts: all users

Reported: 10-8-2013

Issue: The subscription is not renewed. The database is unavailable.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip